We did it, West Hartford!

When it comes to elections in Connecticut, the Democrats of West Hartford are still a force to be reckoned with. Our entire Row A slate emerged victorious in this week’s election, thanks to the support of voters, volunteers, and donors who share our vision of a more vibrant, fair, and inclusive Connecticut.

Governor Ned Lamont and Lt. Governor Susan Bysiewicz were comfortably re-elected to a second term. Senator Richard Blumenthal handily defeated his Trump-endorsed challenger, Leora Levy. Stephanie Thomas was elected Secretary of the State. Erick Russell won the race for State Treasurer, becoming the first Black LGBTQ person ever elected to statewide office in US history. The Democratic sweep also included William Tong’s successful bid for another term as Attorney General and Sean Scanlon’s defeat of West Hartford Town Councilor Mary Fay in the race for State Comptroller.

Locally, State Representative Kate Farrar and her campaign team inspired us with their outstanding efforts to engage with voters in the 20th House District, which now includes part of Newington. Kate’s re-election was secured thanks to her focus on issues of importance like tax fairness, economic development, education, racial and gender equity, healthcare and public health, protecting seniors, LGBTQIA rights, and the environment.

State Senator Derek Slap, State Representative Tammy Exum, and State Representative Jillian Gilchrest retained their seats in the Connecticut legislature. They may have all run unopposed, but they continued to connect with voters and campaigned hard for other Democrats in tight races.

We also celebrated the victories of incumbents State Representative Bobby Gibson and State Representative Edwin Vargas, each of whom are looking forward to representing West Hartford as a result of redistricting. Rep. Vargas becomes our town’s first-ever Latino legislator!

Owen Egan will return for another term as Judge of Probate and Deputy Registrar of Voters Elizabeth Rousseau was elected Registrar.

Tuesday’s results continued several decades of dominance in down-ballot statewide races for Democrats. But this legacy of success would not have been possible without the tremendous dedication, generosity, hard work, and sacrifice from Democrats LIKE YOU. Again, we offer our most heartfelt thanks.

And that’s not all!

On Wednesday evening, Deb Polun was sworn in as the newest member of the West Hartford Town Council! A former Chair and Vice-Chair of the Board of Education, Deb fills the vacancy created by the resignation of Adrienne Billings-Smith.